Recycled Glass Lovelies

Having a slew of vases, jars and chipped & mis-matched goblets stashed around the house has its benefits. Well sometimes… I either transform them into something lovely (hopefully) or they collect dust. Not a fan of the latter, I decided to paint some of my vases and chipped goblets to transform them into these painted vases.

The process is easy and here’s what you’ll need:

  • Liquitex Glossies High Gloss Acrylic Enamel (buy here)
  • Rubbing Alcohol
  • Foam Brush
  • Cotton Balls

Here’s how ya do it:

1.  Collect/hoard glass jars, vases, and goblets.

2.  Thoroughly clean glass with soap and water then using the cotton balls, swab the inside of the vessel with alcohol. The alcohol will remove any last bits of oil or grime and preps the glass to accept the enamel.

3.  Mix the paint. I used three parts white to one part aqua to get that delicious ‘Tiffany Blue’ color.

4.  When the glass is dry, start painting the insides of the vessel using a foam brush. If the opening of the vessel is too small for the brush, you can pour a small amount of paint inside and swish it around. For my long-necked vases, I did exactly that. I then turned them upside down to make sure the paint was thoroughly distributed inside the vase.

5.  Let the paint dry for at least 24 hours. Finally, heat set the glass by placing in a cool oven and bake for 45 minutes at 325 degrees.  Remove the glass after the oven has cooled and your done!

Just lovely!  Happy crafting and enjoy your weekend!

5 responses to “Recycled Glass Lovelies

  1. Mark, I absolutely love the glass project. I will have to try it very soon. Have a great weekend. Sharon

  2. Just lovely – and the colour you have chosen is perfect. I so want to try this, thanks for the instructions!

  3. Love the idea and color choices!

  4. I’ve been searching high and low for a tutorial using the glossies paint. Thank you! How much paint did you need to do the glasses? I’m ordering the paint online and have no idea how much I need. Was the paint liquid enough to swish around?

    • Hi Abby! Glad I could help. I bought 2 bottles of white and 2 of the turquoise color (they’re those little small 2 oz bottles). Since I mixed the two colors together to get my desired shade, I had more than enough for my project. In fact I have a lot left over. Good luck with your project! And, thank you for reading my blog.

Leave a Reply

