Repurposed Jars for the Holidays

 

As I was cleaning my fridge, I discovered entirely too many spoiled jars of olives, jellies and some other suspicious matter in jars. After cleaning them up and, since I like to recycle in creative ways, I made these holiday jars and filled them with pine scented soy candles. Okay, if you don’t feel like messing with scalding hot wax, you can use the jars for decorative storage or give them as gifts filled with candies or other unique gift items. However, for those brave crafters out there, here’s a link with easy to follow instructions to make candles.

Note to crafters, with the exception of the jars, I purchased all of the project supplies at A.C. Moore (my second home).

Here’s what you’ll need to make the decorative jars.

  • The desire to clean out your fridge
  • Empty jars
  • Craft paint (or spray paint)
  • Brushes (if painting the lids by hand)
  • Miniature trees
  • Adhesive (I used E-6000 Craft Adhesive)

Here’s how ya do it:

  1. Paint the lids with craft or spray paint.
  2. After the paint is dry, glue the miniature trees to the lid.
  3. Your done!

How easy is that!  Probably the most difficult part if this project, for me, was removing the labels from the jars. I found that a good soak in hot soapy water and a little coaxing with a magic eraser, the labels surrendered.

Have fun and happy crafting!

14 responses to “Repurposed Jars for the Holidays

  1. Ohh…first of all, thank you for reminding me that my family requested I clean out the fridge (totally forgot about that), and also, thank you for giving me something to look forward too while cleaning out said fridge! Nice post! May seem like a silly question…but did you make the candles? Or buy a candle kit? I’ve always wanted to work with candles but I never had the courage.

    • Hi Jessie and thanks for following my blog! Yes, I did make the soy candles in these jars. It’s super easy and you can pick up all of the candle making supplies at any craft store. They also have some great books you can pick up and, YouTube has quite a few video tutorials. Have fun!

  2. Oh these are too cute! I love that the little lids can stand up tall right along side the pretty glowing candle. So festive!

  3. Were the little trees at A.C. Moore too?

  4. Pingback: It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas, toys in every store | A Blackjack of All Trades

  5. Pingback: Repurposed Jar Candles for the Holidays · Candle Making | CraftGossip.com

  6. Pingback: Repurposed Pantry Jars As Party Favors |

  7. Pingback: 26 Mason Jar Gift Ideas for Christmas

  8. Pingback: ways to reuse empty jars/bottles | houseJOB

  9. Pingback: 140 Diy Mason Jar – Crafts, Lights, Storage, Vases, Glitter | Rilane - We Aspire to Inspire

  10. I have to tell you that it’s hard to find your posts in google, i found this one on 11 spot,
    you should build some quality backlinks in order to rank
    your page, i know how to help you, just type
    in google – k2 seo tips

Leave a comment